McKinney-Vento Homeless

CLARKSTON SCHOOL DISTRICT
CHILDREN IN TRANSITION PROGRAM

In the 2017-2018 school year, 185 students were recognized as homeless in the Clarkston School District.

The Children In Transition program was created to collaborate with teachers and schools to help homeless students continue to be successful in school.  A homeless liaison has been appointed to advocate for these students.  Some of the ways the liaison can help are:
  • Provide advocacy and resources to the family and student for basic needs
  • Provide training on how to recognize the signs and symptoms of homelessness
  • Provide teaching strategies to be inclusive of these students
If you know a student who lacks permanent night time shelter, please contact a Building Coordinator (each school has their own, see below). 

BUILDING COORDINATORS

Clarkston High School
Kathi Carlson (last names A-K) - Email: CarlsonK@csdk12.org
Janet Beitelspacher (last names L-Z) -  Email: Janet@csdk12.org

Educational Opportunity Center
Candy Becker - Email: BeckerC@csdk12.org

Lincoln Middle School
Shannon Rhodes - Email: RhodesS@csdk12.org

Grantham Elementary School
Rhonda Wells - Email: WellsR@csdk12.org

Heights Elementary School
Nichole Brown - Email: BrownN@csdk12.org

Highland Elementary School
Debbie O'Kelley - Email: OkelleyD@csdk12.org

Parkway Elementary School
Cindy Fliger - Email: FligerC@csdk12.org

DISTRICT HOMELESS LIAISON

Heather Lang, Coordinator of Student Support Services
Email: LangH@csdk12.org
PH: (509) 769-5529



“The Clarkston School District will provide equal educational opportunity and treatment for all students in all aspects of the academic and activities program without discrimination based on race, religion, creed, color, national origin, age, honorably discharged veteran or military status, sex, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, marital status, the presence of any sensory, mental, or physical disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal by a person with a disability. The district will provide equal access to school facilities to the Boy Scouts of America and all other designated youth groups listed in Title 36 of the United States Code as a patriotic society.”

The following employees have been designated to handle questions and complaints of alleged discrimination:

Title IX Coordinator, Jim Fry
Assistant Superintendent
1294 Chestnut Street
Clarkston, WA  99403
PH: (509) 758-2531
Email: FryJ@csdk12.org

Section 504/ADA Coordinator, Rebecca Lockhart
Executive Director of Student Services
1294 Chestnut Street
Clarkston, WA  99403
PH: (509) 758-2531
Email: LockhartR@csdk12.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.